New designs, about the process // nuevos diseños y acerca del proceso

I like Illustration Friday blog a lot, it gives me a lot of ideas for when I’m like “i don’t know what to draw…!”  the truth is I could make cats every time, but Illustration Friday brings me to different topics, sometimes abstract topics like this week’s “Wish” that brought me immediately to one of my favorite songs and it is perfect for 2 things I am trying to do more:

1-Lettering design

2-New cards

So this is combination of all that, the process, (sorry for the bad quality iphone photos!) begins with a hand sketch which I scan, and digitalize and then I take that digital drawing to my embroidery software ( I could skip step two and work directly with the sketch on the embroidery software, but I was not that happy with my lettering in this case).

Now I have a JEF file, which is what I use in my Janome embroidery machine, and hopefully everything works good and I’ll have a beautiful card.

I will post a video of how the machine makes the embroidery, I guess not many people have seen it working 🙂

IMG_4571
The original hand made sketch

Sketch for a new card design

IMG_4572
Digitalizing the illustration and creating the shapes that will be stitched.
Digital embroidery file, preview of the stitches.
Digital embroidery file, preview of the stitches.
One thought on “New designs, about the process // nuevos diseños y acerca del proceso

Leave a Reply

